Posted by: paywindow7 | December 25, 2011

Glider Ace

I know this aviator type who’s a glider ace. This outlaw flyer has somehow mastered the ability to catch the wind just right on blustery days and actually hover in space. The wind over his wings is just above stall and his ground speed is next to zero. When conditions are right he can hold this hover for almost minute while making slight corrections in wing and tail control surfaces and just hang in mid-air while he looks around at us poor wretches that are ground bound below.

It would be illegal as hell if I were to do it where I fly but he makes sure that when he does the trick that he’s out and away from anyone who might cause him problems and he seems to know that I enjoy watching him and don’t give a damn if he’s legal or not.

I’ve seen him on a number of occasions doing other aerobatics maneuvers and I’m more than a little in awe of what he can do in the air. Sometimes diving almost straight down then twisting left and right just before leveling out inches above the weeds to go blasting flat-out like a minion from hell on a strafing run. I can imagine the sound he gets in his ears as he rockets along with the wind over his wings making that strange fluttering high-speed roar.

I can’t prove it but when I catch him doing it I can imagine him looking at me with a silly smirk on his face as if to say “try this hoss”.

I’ll never learn to do it in this life that’s for sure. To be able to do it as well as he does and to get it just right I think you have to develop a taste for mice.

I only recently found out his name. It’s Hawk as in red-tailed ….

BC


Responses

  1. I used to fly gluiders!
    Loved this!!!
    Here is my story below if you are interested!

    http://dianereedwiter.wordpress.com/2012/07/28/the-red-knob-3/?trashed=1&ids=1783

    • I have always been interested in gliders and knew you had flown them at one time so I will definitely read your story. Thanks for the “Like” on my “Glider Ace” post. You are always welcome to browse around my blog. I don’t post much but I’ve got a few I’m thinking about putting up.

      • I know what you mean… I am not posting as often either. Though I have a few up my sleeve as well. :)
        I love going backi and looking through some of your stories. I like to have time to really read the blogs I love rather than read them too quckly. I wish I had more people like you who are willing to go back in the archives before anyone but me read them! I have plenty to choose from! Smile.
        I will be watching for more posts! ;)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

