Posted by: paywindow7 | May 6, 2013

Slow me down Lord

Ease the pounding of my heart by the quieting of my mind

Slow my hurried pace with a vision of the eternal reach of time

Give me, amid the confusion of the day, the calmness of the everlasting hills

Break the tensions of my nerves and muscles with the soothing music of the singing streams that live in my memory

Help me to know the magical, restoring power of sleep

Teach me the art of taking minute vacations ____of slowing down to look at a flower, too chat with a friend, to pat a dog, to read a few lines from a good book

Slow me down Lord and inspire me to send my roots deep into the soul of life’s enduring values

That I may grow toward the stars of my greater destiny<

by: Wilferd A. Peterson
courtesy: Edwin Gaines(Stormy) Cloud

Blog Note: There are many variations of this piece and many who claim authorship. From what I’ve read Mr. Peterson wrote the original.

Responses

  1. Thank you for posting that poem, who wever wrote it. It reminds me of the saying: “Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the number of of moments that take out breath away.” (Author – unknown) This has become a mantra for me in my later years and helps to keep me focused on what is really important in life. Than you for your visit to my blog and I hope you’ll stop by again. I’ll be following yours to see where it takes you.

  2. Just read the story Debra Eve posted on her Later Bloomers blog, an inspiration and a great story

    • Thanks for visiting and taking time to comment Francine. I haven’t been able to find your blog but I understand that you want to maintain your privacy.

  3. When can we expect another post? Hope all is okay by you and yours.

  4. Everything OK here and thanks for asking. I’m working on some new stuff and should have it up soon. I read your guest post on Judy’s blog and like all your other posts, it was well researched and presented.

  5. Slow me down… That is something I imagine many of us can meditate on. I know I can! Perfect for the end of a hectic Friday. Thank you. :)

    • Thanks August, I appreciate your comment. The research of this piece proved to be very interesting for me. There are many variations in text with as many authors but each adapts the core thought better than any other similar poem I’ve come across.
      Perhaps because the need for inner peace and tranquility is so universal.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

